Montgomery Upper Middle School

LOGO  

                                      "The sum of human wisdom is not contained within any one language"  Ezra Pound  
 
UPPER MIDDLE SCHOOL   
SUPERVISOR OF WORLD LANGUAGES AND ESL, ALMA REYES    
(609) 466 7602 ext. 632     areyes@mtsd.us
 
 
OUR MISSION
To develop an appreciation, tolerance and understanding of other cultures;
To encourage life-long interest and love for world languages and cultures; 
To help eliminate racism, prejudice, and bias
To increase understanding of those different than ourselves
To cultivate the ability to communicate with a range of people
To cultivate linguistic proficiency
To develop 21st century global citizens
 
 
WHAT IS THE ELEMENTARY FLEX PROGRAM?  
 
 
CURRICULUM 
The curriculum uses the Understanding by Design (UbD) approach and is organized in thematic units to provide meaningful context for academic and cultural content, address national and state standards and assure that students are 21st century college-, careers- and world-ready.  We offer French, German and Spanish classes to all the students at Upper Middle School. Classes meet every other day, for 84 minutes. The Upper Middle School curriculum seeks to provide an appropriate transition between elementary language exposure to deeper levels of language study at the secondary school level.
 
 
ESTABLISHED GOALS:  STATE AND NATIONAL STANDARDS 
  
 
PROGRESSION OF STUDY
Full implementation at the High School anticipated by 2017
      FLEX flow chart

FACULTY
 
Staci Anderson Spanish & English Language Learners stacianderson@mtsd.us
Jessica Giboyeaux Spanish jgiboyeaux@mtsd.us
Michael Molino French mmolino@mtsd.us
Susan Procida Spanish sprocida@mtsd.us
Armando Quiroz Spanish aquiroz@mtsd.us
Lale Saatchi German lsaatchi@mtsd.us
Betsey Valenza French bvalenza@mtsd.us
 
Sign In
CLOSE